Agent workspace · Manaflow, Inc.
cmux
Native macOS terminal built on libghostty with vertical tabs, notification rings when an agent needs attention, a scriptable browser pane, SSH workspaces, a socket API, and a beta iOS companion.
~/facts
- platforms
- macOSiOSNative macOS app (Swift/AppKit, macOS 14+, Apple Silicon or Intel), built on libghostty. iOS app is 'cmux BETA' via TestFlight, pairs with the Mac. Other platforms: waitlist only.
- price
- FreemiumFree $0; Pro $40/mo billed yearly ($480/yr) or $50/mo monthly; Max $160/mo billed yearly or $200/mo monthly; Team $60/user/mo; Enterprise custom (seen 2026-10-20). Paid tiers add Cloud VMs and the iOS app.
- source
- Open sourceLicence: GPL-3.0-or-later (app); server software under BUSL-1.1
- github
- manaflow-ai/cmux 28.3k stars, seen 2026-10-20
~/features
- ✓ yes AI agents
- ? not verified Multi-agent
- ? not verified Git worktrees
- ✓ yes MCP
- ✓ yes Phone control
- ✓ yes Mobile app
- ✓ yes SSH
- ? not verified SFTP
- ✓ yes Tabs
- ✓ yes Split panes
- ? not verified Cloud sync
- ? not verified Team sharing
✓ documented · – absent or not in its feature list · ? not verified
+ strengths
- GPL-3.0-or-later open source app, free to use, with a native (non-Electron) macOS build
- Panes and sidebar badges signal when an agent is waiting; sidebar shows git branch, ports and notification text
- Full CLI and socket API covering workspaces, splits, input, screen reads and the browser
- SSH workspaces and tmux attach; Cloud VMs for agents on paid plans
! weak points
- macOS only; other platforms are waitlist
- Cloud VMs and the iOS app are on paid plans ($40/mo yearly for Pro, up to $160/mo for Max)
- iOS app is beta (TestFlight)
- Not a worktree manager: no worktree feature seen in docs or changelog; server components are BUSL-1.1, not GPL
~/who it is for
- best for
- Mac users who want a Ghostty-based terminal that surfaces which agent needs attention, with scriptable browser and CLI.
- look elsewhere if
- Windows or Linux users, or people wanting automatic per-agent git worktree isolation.
~/compare
~/sources
Checked 2026-10-20. Prices and features change; the vendor's page is the authority.
- cmux.com — platform, free/GPL, notification rings, browser, SSH, iOS beta, socket API
- cmux.com/pricing — giá: Free, Pro $40 yearly/$50 monthly, Max, Team $60, Enterprise
- cmux.com/docs/getting-started — macOS 14+, Apple Silicon or Intel
- cmux.com/docs/changelog — v0.65.2; iOS beta changes; SSH and tmux; Computer Use MCP
- raw.githubusercontent.com/manaflow-ai/cmux/main/LICENSE — GPL-3.0-or-later with BUSL-1.1 server directories
- api.github.com/repos/manaflow-ai/cmux — 28294 stars, pushed 2026-10-20
Not verified
- git_worktrees and multi_agent: not stated on pages seen (multiple workspaces exist, but 'run many agents' not stated as a feature)
- mcp: changelog 0.65.1 mentions a 'cmux Computer Use MCP'; no dedicated MCP docs page seen
- Only first ~100k characters of the changelog read
- Founder's Edition: pricing page gives no details, only a recovery link
- Hint matched: Pro $40/mo billed yearly; GPL confirmed (YC page said AGPL in a secondary source, repo LICENSE says GPL-3.0-or-later)