Agent workspace · hardbeat920
MonoCode
Desktop GUI where each tab is a session for a coding agent CLI you have installed. README suggests separate git worktrees for parallel tasks and lists experimental remote sessions plus an iOS companion beta.
MonoCode review
MonoCode is a desktop GUI for coding agent CLIs you already have installed. It runs on macOS, Windows and Linux, has an iOS beta, and is MIT licensed. We read the vendor's site and GitHub pages in October 2026. We did not run an independent test.
Who it is for
Developers who want one desktop window over several agent CLIs and are comfortable with an early-stage project.
What stands out
The README says tabs are sessions and the composer is the input. It works with agents you have installed and signed in to. The site lists eleven, including Claude Code, Codex, Cursor, OpenCode, Grok Build, Antigravity and Devin.
The README advises separate git worktrees for parallel tasks. An /operator command lets an agent manage worktrees and notes. Remote sessions are documented but marked experimental. The repository holds a separate Expo mobile project.
Release v0.16.0 of 19 October 2026 includes a macOS dmg for each chip family, a Windows installer, a Linux AppImage, a deb and an rpm. The repository showed 3,468 stars on 29 October 2026.
Price and licence
The website does not state a price. The README says MonoCode does not sell tokens, so you use your own agent subscriptions. The code is under the MIT licence, copyright 2026 "Nick", with no extra terms.
Where it falls short
- The README says "MonoCode is still early".
- Remote sessions are experimental, and the iOS companion is a TestFlight beta.
- The site calls the beta public, while the v0.16.0 release notes call it invite-only.
- We saw no Android app and no MCP documentation.
- The vendor is identified only by a GitHub handle and a first name in the licence.
Alternatives
For a more established open-source worktree workspace, see Orca. For a macOS-only terminal that tracks agents, see cmux.
Facts: platforms, price and licence
- platforms
- macOSWindowsLinuxiOSDesktop: macOS (Apple Silicon and Intel), Windows x64, Linux x64 (.deb, .rpm, AppImage). iOS companion is a TestFlight beta (site says public beta; v0.16.0 release notes say invite-only). A separate experimental native preview exists. No Android build seen.
- price
- FreeNo price is stated on the website. README says 'MonoCode does not sell tokens' and you use your own agent subscriptions; the code is MIT and release downloads are public (seen 2026-10-29).
- source
- Open sourceLicence: MIT
- github
- hardbeat920/monocode 3.5k stars, seen 2026-10-29
MonoCode features
- ✓ yes AI agents
- ? not verified Multi-agent
- ✓ yes Git worktrees
- ? not verified MCP
- ✓ yes Phone control
- ✓ yes Mobile app
- ? not verified SSH
- ? not verified SFTP
- ✓ yes Tabs
- ? not verified Split panes
- ? not verified Cloud sync
- ? not verified Team sharing
✓ documented · – absent or not in its feature list · ? not verified
MonoCode strengths
- MIT licence with source and desktop installers for macOS, Windows and Linux
- README lists eleven agents, including Claude Code, Codex, Cursor, OpenCode, Grok Build, Antigravity and Devin
- README recommends separate git worktrees for parallel tasks, and an /operator command lets an agent manage them
- Works with your own agent logins; the project does not sell model tokens
MonoCode weak points
- README says 'MonoCode is still early'
- Remote sessions are labelled experimental, and the iOS companion is a TestFlight beta
- The website does not state a price, and the invite wording for the iOS beta differs between the site and the release notes
- No Android app and no MCP documentation were seen on the pages read
Who MonoCode is for
- best for
- Developers who want a desktop GUI over several agent CLIs they already use, on any of the three desktop systems.
- look elsewhere if
- Users who need a mature product, an Android companion or a vendor-hosted service.
Lists that include MonoCode
- > Best SSH clients for Mac
- > Best SSH clients for Windows
- > Best SSH clients for Linux
- > Best SSH apps for iPhone, iPad and Android
- > Best workspaces for running AI coding agents
- > Best AI agent workspaces for Windows
- > Control Claude Code and Codex from your phone
- > Best free SSH clients
- > Best open-source terminals and SSH clients
Sources and what we could not verify
Checked 2026-10-29. Prices and features change; the vendor's page is the authority.
- www.usemono.dev — platforms, supported agents, v0.16.0 download, iOS TestFlight
- github.com/hardbeat920/monocode — README: agents, worktrees, remote sessions experimental, mobile project, 'still early', MIT
- raw.githubusercontent.com/hardbeat920/monocode/main/LICENSE — MIT, copyright 2026 Nick, no extra terms
- raw.githubusercontent.com/hardbeat920/monocode/main/NOTICE — independence from agent vendors; third-party licences (GPUI Apache-2.0)
- github.com/hardbeat920/monocode/releases/expanded_assets/v0.16.0 — installers: dmg, exe, AppImage, deb, rpm
- api.github.com/repos/hardbeat920/monocode — 3468 stars, MIT, pushed 2026-10-28
Not verified
- price: not stated on website; free inferred only from MIT source and no-token-sales statement
- multi_agent, mcp, ssh, split_panes, scripting_or_api not stated
- Vendor identity: only a GitHub handle and 'Nick' in the licence
- Whether the iOS beta is public or invite-only (site and release notes differ)
- Stars on the website show 3.5K; API gave 3468