Agent workspace · Vicoa AI
Vicoa
Open-source (AGPL) agent workspace for running Claude Code, Codex and 40+ other agents in parallel git worktrees on your computer or a remote machine, steered from desktop, web, or iOS and Android apps.
Vicoa review
Vicoa is an open-source workspace for running coding agents on your computer or a server and steering them from a phone, browser or desktop. We read the vendor's site and GitHub pages in October 2026. We did not run an independent test.
Who it is for
Developers who start agent sessions on a laptop or remote machine and want to follow them from a phone, and who are fine with an AGPL stack they can self-host.
What stands out
Each agent gets its own git worktree and branch. The README lists 11 built-in agents, including Claude Code, Codex and Cursor, plus more than 30 others through the Agent Client Protocol.
Native iOS and Android apps exist, along with a web app. The mobile apps offer push notifications and diff review. The iOS listing showed version 1.7.15 from 12 October 2026 and needs iOS 15 or later. A CLI lets agents or scripts drive sessions, tasks and cron-style automations.
Desktop v0.1.38 was released on 8 October 2026 for macOS (Apple Silicon and Intel), Windows 10 and 11, and Linux. The whole stack is public on GitHub under the AGPL, with Docker instructions for self-hosting.
Where it falls short
- The desktop app is at version 0.1.x, and the repository dates from August 2026.
- The free plan is limited to one remote machine and 10 automations.
- Phone sync uses a Vicoa account unless you host the stack yourself.
- The iOS app is listed under BETTERBIT PTE. LTD. We could not confirm how that company relates to Vicoa AI.
- MCP and SSH are not described on the pages we read.
Price
Free is $0 per month, with the desktop app, mobile and web access, and your own agent subscriptions or keys. Pro is $12 per user per month, or $9 per user per month billed yearly ($108 per user per year), and removes the machine and automation limits. Enterprise is custom. Seen 28 October 2026.
Verdict
Choose it if you want phone and web control of agents running on your own machines, with a self-hostable open-source stack. Look elsewhere if you want a plain terminal or SSH client, or a mature 1.0 product.
Facts: platforms, price and licence
- platforms
- macOSWindowsLinuxiOSAndroidWebDesktop v0.1.38 (macOS Apple Silicon and Intel, Windows 10/11 64-bit, Linux 64-bit AppImage) per vicoa.ai/download. Web app at vicoa.ai. CLI via npm needs Node.js 18+. iOS app requires iOS 15.0 or later (App Store lookup); Android listing is on Google Play (store page loads, OS requirement not read). The homepage lists the desktop app for Mac only, while the download and pricing pages list Windows and Linux too.
- price
- FreemiumFree $0/month: desktop, mobile and web, 40+ agents, bring your own subscriptions or keys, limited to 1 remote machine and 10 automations. Pro $12 per user per month, or $9 per user per month billed yearly ($108 per user per year); unlimited machines and automations, teams and shared projects, seats start at 2. Enterprise custom. Seen 2026-10-28 on vicoa.ai/pricing. Self-hosting is free.
- source
- Open sourceLicence: AGPL-3.0 (LICENSE file is the GNU AGPL v3 text; README says AGPLv3)
- github
- vicoa-ai/vicoa 523 stars, seen 2026-10-28
Vicoa features
- ✓ yes AI agents
- ✓ yes Multi-agent
- ✓ yes Git worktrees
- ? not verified MCP
- ✓ yes Phone control
- ✓ yes Mobile app
- ? not verified SSH
- ? not verified SFTP
- ? not verified Tabs
- ? not verified Split panes
- ✓ yes Cloud sync
- ✓ yes Team sharing
✓ documented · – absent or not in its feature list · ? not verified
Vicoa strengths
- AGPL-3.0 source for the whole stack (CLI, backend, web, desktop, mobile) with Docker self-hosting instructions
- Native iOS and Android apps plus a web app for following sessions, reviewing diffs and getting push notifications
- Each agent gets its own git worktree and branch; 11 built-in agents and 30+ more through the Agent Client Protocol
- Free plan has no message cap and works with your own agent subscriptions or API keys
Vicoa weak points
- Desktop app is at v0.1.x and the repo was created in August 2026, so it is young
- Free plan is limited to one remote machine and 10 automations; more needs Pro at $12 per user per month
- Mobile sync uses a Vicoa account and its hosted backend unless you self-host the stack
- The iOS app is published under a different company name (BETTERBIT PTE. LTD.) and the link to Vicoa AI is not stated on the pages we read
- MCP and SSH are not documented on the pages we read
Who Vicoa is for
- best for
- Developers who want to start coding-agent sessions on a computer or server and steer them from a phone or browser, with a self-hostable open-source stack.
- look elsewhere if
- Anyone who wants a plain terminal or SSH client, or who cannot run a hosted account and does not want to self-host.
Lists that include Vicoa
- > Best SSH clients for Mac
- > Best SSH clients for Windows
- > Best SSH clients for Linux
- > Best SSH apps for iPhone, iPad and Android
- > Best workspaces for running AI coding agents
- > Best AI agent workspaces for Windows
- > Control Claude Code and Codex from your phone
- > Best free SSH clients
- > Best open-source terminals and SSH clients
Sources and what we could not verify
Checked 2026-10-28. Prices and features change; the vendor's page is the authority.
- github.com/vicoa-ai/vicoa — README: features, agents, platforms, self-hosting, AGPLv3
- github.com/vicoa-ai/vicoa/blob/main/LICENSE — licence text: GNU AGPL version 3
- github.com/vicoa-ai/vicoa/releases — v0.1.38 on 2026-10-08, assets for mac, Windows, Linux
- api.github.com/repos/vicoa-ai/vicoa — stars 523, created 2026-08-28, pushed 2026-10-24, not archived
- vicoa.ai — homepage: 40+ agents, desktop Mac, mobile iOS/Android, web, free tier
- vicoa.ai/download — platforms, v0.1.38, Windows 10/11, Linux AppImage, no beta label
- vicoa.ai/pricing — Free $0, Pro $12 or $9 yearly, Enterprise custom, free-plan limits
- itunes.apple.com/lookup?id=6751626168&country=us — iOS app 'Vicoa: Claude Code & Codex IDE', v1.7.15, 2026-10-12, iOS 15.0+, free, seller BETTERBIT PTE. LTD.
- vicoa.ai/docs — docs navigation; remote session, custom agents, changelog
Not verified
- MCP support: not mentioned in README or the docs page read (left null)
- SSH/SFTP/tabs/split panes: not described; the download page only says the CLI works over SSH on servers (that is not an SSH client feature)
- Relationship between Vicoa AI and BETTERBIT PTE. LTD. (iOS seller) is not stated
- Android store listing: page returns HTTP 200 but its version, date and OS requirement were not read
- Homepage says desktop is Mac only; download and pricing pages say Mac, Windows and Linux (download page taken as current)
- Last GitHub commit on default branch is 2026-10-10 although API push date is 2026-10-24 (other branches likely)