Agent workspace · RunMaestro
Maestro
Keyboard-driven desktop app that runs many coding agents in parallel, supports worktree sub-agents, unattended Auto Run playbooks, group chat between agents, a CLI, SSH remote execution and phone access through a browser.
Maestro review
Maestro is a keyboard-driven desktop app that runs many coding agents in parallel, with worktree sub-agents and unattended task playbooks. We read the vendor's site and GitHub pages in October 2026. We did not run an independent test.
Who it is for
Developers who live on the keyboard and want free, AGPL-licensed orchestration of Claude Code, Codex or OpenCode on macOS, Windows or Linux.
What stands out
Worktree sub-agents appear under their parent agent, each with its own directory and history. Pull requests can be opened from the app when the GitHub CLI is installed.
Auto Run works through a markdown checklist or a free-text goal, with each task in a fresh session. A CLI, maestro-cli, runs playbooks from cron or CI. Group Chat lets a moderator agent route a question between agents, and an inline @mention consults another agent once.
Agents can run on remote machines over SSH. The docs cover ProxyJump for bastion hosts. A host can be controlled from a phone browser, or attached over Tailscale, LAN, an SSH tunnel or HTTPS. Usage and cost are tracked per session.
Desktop builds exist for macOS (Intel and Apple Silicon), Windows and Linux. Version 1.0.2 was released on 21 October 2026, and a 1.1.0 release candidate was marked pre-release.
Where it falls short
- AGPL-3.0 is open source but strong copyleft, which some teams avoid.
- Copilot-CLI, Qwen3 Coder and Oh My Pi support is labelled beta. Gemini CLI is only a possible future addition.
- SSH execution needs the agent CLI on the remote host and a POSIX default shell. LAN remote control is plain HTTP, and a paired device gets full operator access.
- No native mobile app is described, and the desktop window on the host must stay open. SFTP, port forwarding and split panes are not verified.
Price
The site and README state no price and no paid plan. It is presented as open source under AGPL-3.0 and works through the agent subscriptions you already have. Seen 28 October 2026.
Verdict
Choose it if you want free parallel agents with long unattended runs and can accept AGPL. Look elsewhere if you need a native phone app or a permissive licence.
Facts: platforms, price and licence
- platforms
- macOSWindowsLinuxmacOS Intel and Apple Silicon (.dmg/.zip); Windows .exe installer or portable .exe; Linux AppImage/.deb/.rpm for x86_64 and arm64. No OS minimums listed. Phones use the host's built-in web interface in a browser (no native mobile app described); a 'Maestro Lite' mode of the desktop app can attach to a host.
- price
- FreeSite and README state no price or paid plan; presented as open source under AGPL-3.0 and a pass-through to the agent CLIs you already pay for (seen 2026-10-28).
- source
- Open sourceLicence: AGPL-3.0 (LICENSE file read: standard GNU AGPL v3 text, unmodified)
- github
- RunMaestro/Maestro 3.5k stars, seen 2026-10-28
Maestro features
- ✓ yes AI agents
- ✓ yes Multi-agent
- ✓ yes Git worktrees
- ✓ yes MCP
- ✓ yes Phone control
- ? not verified Mobile app
- ✓ yes SSH
- ? not verified SFTP
- ✓ yes Tabs
- ? not verified Split panes
- ? not verified Cloud sync
- ? not verified Team sharing
✓ documented · – absent or not in its feature list · ? not verified
Maestro strengths
- Worktree sub-agents nest under their parent agent, each with its own directory and history; PRs can be created from the app via the gh CLI.
- Auto Run executes markdown task checklists or a free-text goal, each task in a fresh session; maestro-cli runs playbooks from cron or CI.
- Agents can be run on remote hosts over SSH, with ProxyJump and ProxyCommand support, and a host can be controlled from a phone browser, over Tailscale, LAN, SSH tunnel or HTTPS.
- Group chat with a moderator agent and inline @mention consults between agents; usage and cost tracking per session.
Maestro weak points
- AGPL-3.0 is a strong copyleft licence; it is open source but may not suit teams that avoid AGPL.
- Copilot-CLI, Qwen3 Coder and Oh My Pi support is labelled beta in the README; Gemini CLI is only a possible future addition.
- Remote SSH needs the agent CLI installed on the remote and a POSIX default shell; Windows hosts need OpenSSH set to Git Bash or WSL; LAN remote control is plain HTTP and a paired device gets full operator access.
- No native mobile app described; the host desktop window must stay open for remote control. Project started November 2025 and reached 1.0.x in October 2026.
Who Maestro is for
- best for
- Keyboard-centred developers who want free, AGPL-licensed orchestration of Claude Code, Codex or OpenCode with worktree sub-agents and long unattended playbook runs.
- look elsewhere if
- Anyone who wants a permissive licence, a native iOS/Android app, or an app that works without its desktop host running.
Lists that include Maestro
- > Best SSH clients for Mac
- > Best SSH clients for Windows
- > Best SSH clients for Linux
- > Best workspaces for running AI coding agents
- > Best AI agent workspaces for Windows
- > SSH clients with AI agent support
- > Control Claude Code and Codex from your phone
- > SSH clients and terminals with MCP support
- > Best free SSH clients
- > Best open-source terminals and SSH clients
Sources and what we could not verify
Checked 2026-10-28. Prices and features change; the vendor's page is the authority.
- github.com/RunMaestro/Maestro — README features, supported agents, license
- api.github.com/repos/RunMaestro/Maestro — stars 3508, AGPL-3.0, created 2025-11-23, pushed 2026-10-27
- github.com/RunMaestro/Maestro/blob/main/LICENSE — licence text (AGPL v3)
- github.com/RunMaestro/Maestro/releases — v1.0.2 2026-10-21, v1.1.0-RC pre-release, asset list for platforms
- runmaestro.ai — official site, no pricing, open source statement, SSH and phone mentions
- docs.runmaestro.ai/installation — platforms, installers
- docs.runmaestro.ai/git-worktrees — git worktrees
- docs.runmaestro.ai/ssh-remote-execution — SSH execution, ProxyJump, requirements
- docs.runmaestro.ai/remote-control — phone/browser remote control, Maestro Lite is not native mobile app
- docs.runmaestro.ai/mcp-server — MCP server exposes docs search only (SearchMaestro)
- runmaestro.ai/team — team, no company or funding named
Not verified
- sftp, port_forwarding, x11_forwarding, serial, telnet, mosh, split_panes, cloud_sync, team_sharing: not stated in pages read
- mobile_app: docs describe phone access via browser web interface and say Maestro Lite is not a native app; no store app mentioned, left null rather than false
- mcp: Maestro's own MCP server only searches its docs; the README says MCP tools configured in the agent CLI work through Maestro; whether Maestro itself is an MCP client is not stated
- no price statement on the site; free inferred from open-source licence and README
- code signing/notarization and OS minimums not documented
- docs page https://docs.runmaestro.ai/remote-access returned 404 (README links to it); remote-control page used instead
- Linux tabs: tab support taken from the README shortcut table (Cmd/Ctrl+T New Tab)