$ termdex

Agent workspace · Cline Bot Inc.

Cline Kanban

Local web app, launched with npx kanban, where each task card runs a CLI coding agent in its own git worktree and terminal, with diff review, inline comments, linked tasks, auto-commit and a git view.

Official site

Cline Kanban review

Cline Kanban is a free, open-source board that runs coding agents as task cards, each in its own git worktree and terminal. It runs as a local web page. We read the vendor's site and GitHub pages in October 2026. We did not run an independent test.

Who it is for

Developers who want a browser-based board to queue, run and review many command-line agents in parallel, and who accept a tool its makers call a research preview.

What stands out

You start it with npx kanban from a git repository. No account is needed. Each card gets a temporary worktree, and gitignored folders such as node_modules are linked in rather than copied.

Cards can be linked, so finishing one starts the next. Auto-commit and auto-PR options exist. You review a card's diff, leave comments on lines and send them back to the agent. A git view covers history, branches and push.

The docs name Cline CLI, Claude Code, Codex and OpenCode as agents. A remote-access page covers opening the board from a phone over the local network, Tailscale or an SSH tunnel. The licence file is Apache 2.0.

Where it falls short

Price

No price is listed for Kanban. The code is Apache-2.0 and the README says no account is needed. The agents you connect are billed by their own providers. Seen 28 October 2026.

Verdict

Choose it if you want a free, open-source kanban front end for parallel agent runs and can live with preview-stage software. Look elsewhere if you need a confirmed Windows build or a native app.

Facts: platforms, price and licence

platforms
Not stated. Runs as a local Node.js web server opened in the browser (npx kanban). Docs page says Node.js 18+, package.json says >=22. CI tests Linux and macOS; the Windows job is commented out in the workflow. A separate product, Cline Desktop (beta), lists macOS, Windows and Linux but is not Kanban. A private Electron shell for Kanban (packages/desktop, v0.0.1) is in the repo with no release.
price
FreeNo price on the Kanban README or docs; Apache-2.0 open source, 'No account or setup required' (README, seen 2026-10-28). The general Cline pricing page covers AI inference for Cline itself, not Kanban.
source
Open sourceLicence: Apache-2.0
github
cline/kanban 1.4k stars, seen 2026-10-28

Cline Kanban features

✓ documented · – absent or not in its feature list · ? not verified

Cline Kanban strengths

  • Apache-2.0 licence (LICENSE file read), no account needed, starts with a single npx command from any git repo
  • Each card gets an ephemeral worktree and terminal; gitignored files such as node_modules are symlinked to avoid reinstalling
  • Cards can be linked so finishing one starts the next; auto-commit and auto-PR options; inline diff comments are sent back to the agent
  • Works with Cline CLI, Claude Code, Codex, OpenCode and related CLIs; docs describe reaching the board from a phone over LAN, Tailscale or an SSH tunnel

Cline Kanban weak points

  • Labelled a research preview; README warns it uses experimental agent features such as bypassing permissions and runtime hooks
  • Supported operating systems are not stated; CI has the Windows job commented out, and docs (Node 18+) disagree with package.json (Node >=22)
  • Phone use is a browser tab on a local server; no mobile app, and exposing the server beyond localhost gives full repo and terminal access per the docs
  • Last release was v0.1.70 on 2026-07-12, about three and a half months before this check, with 320 open issues on GitHub

Who Cline Kanban is for

best for
Developers who want a free, open-source kanban board to run and review several CLI agents in parallel worktrees from the browser.
look elsewhere if
Anyone who needs a confirmed Windows build, a native app or a production-stable tool today.

Lists that include Cline Kanban

Sources and what we could not verify

Checked 2026-10-28. Prices and features change; the vendor's page is the authority.

Not verified