Agent workspace · Preset, Inc.
Agor
Self-hosted web workspace where a team runs Claude Code, Codex, Gemini, OpenCode, Copilot and Cursor sessions on isolated git branches, shown as cards on a shared live board with comments, schedules and an MCP server.
Agor review
Agor is a self-hosted web workspace where a team runs coding agents on separate git branches and follows them on a shared board. It is made by Preset, Inc. We read the vendor's site and GitHub pages in October 2026. We did not run an independent test.
Who it is for
Teams that want agents and people working in the same place, with comments, shared sessions and permissions, and who are fine running a small server.
What stands out
Each branch gets its own working directory, dev environment and conversation. Claude Code, Codex, Gemini, OpenCode, Copilot and Cursor can be chosen per session. The board shows branches as cards, with live cursors, comments and a shared terminal.
Agor exposes itself over MCP, so agents can create and schedule work. There is also a REST and WebSocket API, a CLI, a scheduler, and Slack and GitHub gateways. It shows token and dollar cost per prompt. Storage is LibSQL or Postgres.
Install is npm (Node 22.12 or newer, plus Git) or Docker Compose. The npm package was at 0.27.0 on 14 October 2026.
Where it falls short
- The Business Source License 1.1 is source-available, not open source. It allows production use but not offering Agor's orchestration to third parties as a product or service. It converts to Apache 2.0 on 15 January 2029.
- It needs a daemon and database. No desktop installer was seen, and the supported host operating systems are not stated.
- Cursor support and Cards are labelled beta.
- The GitHub Releases page stops at v0.15.0, so version history is in npm and the changelog.
- SSH sessions to remote machines and a phone app are not described. We treat them as not verified.
Price
The Community Edition is free to self-host. Agor Cloud, a hosted service, entered open beta on 13 October 2026. We saw no price for it, only sign-up and demo links. Seen 28 October 2026.
Verdict
Choose it if you want a shared, self-hosted board for a team's agents and can live with the BSL terms. Look elsewhere if you need an OSI-approved licence, a desktop app, or plan to resell agent orchestration as a service.
Facts: platforms, price and licence
- platforms
- WebSelf-hosted web UI plus CLI, installed with npm (Node.js 22.12 or newer and Git required) or Docker Compose; no packaged desktop app seen. Hosted Agor Cloud is in open beta (announced 2026-10-13). README/docs did not name supported server operating systems.
- price
- FreeCommunity Edition is self-hosted and free to use; production use is allowed by the BSL Additional Use Grant, except offering Agor itself as a product or service to third parties. Agor Cloud (hosted, open beta) has no price on the pages seen; sign-up and 'book a demo' only. Seen 2026-10-28.
- source
- ProprietaryLicence: Business Source License 1.1 (source-available, not OSI open source); licensor Preset, Inc.; converts to Apache 2.0 on 2029-01-15 or the fourth anniversary of a version's first public BSL release, whichever is first (LICENSE read 2026-10-28)
- github
- preset-io/agor 1.5k stars, seen 2026-10-28
Agor features
- ✓ yes AI agents
- ✓ yes Multi-agent
- ✓ yes Git worktrees
- ✓ yes MCP
- ? not verified Phone control
- ? not verified Mobile app
- ? not verified SSH
- ? not verified SFTP
- ? not verified Tabs
- ? not verified Split panes
- ? not verified Cloud sync
- ✓ yes Team sharing
✓ documented · – absent or not in its feature list · ? not verified
Agor strengths
- Each branch has its own working directory, dev environment and conversation, and several agent runtimes are interchangeable per session
- Shared boards with live cursors, comments and a shared terminal let several people follow one agent's work
- Exposes itself over MCP and has a REST/WebSocket API, a CLI and a TypeScript client, so agents can drive it
- Per-prompt token and dollar accounting, branch-scoped permissions, a scheduler, Slack and GitHub gateways, and LibSQL or Postgres storage
Agor weak points
- Business Source License 1.1 is source-available, not open source; it bars offering Agor as a hosted or bundled product, until conversion to Apache 2.0 in 2029
- Needs a Node daemon plus database to run; no desktop installer, so setup is heavier than an app download
- Cursor support is labelled beta and the Cards feature is labelled beta
- GitHub Releases page stops at v0.15.0 while npm is at 0.27.0, so release notes live in the changelog instead; Agor Cloud is open beta with no public price
Who Agor is for
- best for
- Teams that want a self-hosted shared board where several people and agents work on branches together and can review each other's sessions.
- look elsewhere if
- Solo users who want a quick desktop app, anyone who needs an OSI-approved open-source licence, or anyone planning to resell the orchestration as a service.
Lists that include Agor
Sources and what we could not verify
Checked 2026-10-28. Prices and features change; the vendor's page is the authority.
- github.com/preset-io/agor/blob/main/LICENSE — BSL 1.1 text, Preset Inc licensor, Additional Use Grant, Change Date 2029-01-15, Apache 2.0 change licence
- github.com/preset-io/agor — README: features, supported runtimes, install, architecture, 'source-available, not open source' statement
- api.github.com/repos/preset-io/agor — 1471 stars, last push 2026-10-27, licence shown as NOASSERTION/Other, org owner
- registry.npmjs.org/agor-live — agor-live latest 0.27.0, published 2026-10-14
- agor.live — vendor site: multiplayer boards, Agor Cloud, Community Edition
- agor.live/cloud — Agor Cloud hosted, AWS private cloud, enterprise on-prem tiers; no price shown; BSL statement
- agor.live/blog/agor-cloud-open-beta — Cloud open beta announced 2026-10-13
- agor.live/guide/getting-started — npm and Docker Compose install, Node 22.12
- agor.live/guide/sdk-comparison — Cursor listed as beta
Not verified
- platforms: only 'web' confirmed; host OS support (macOS, Linux, Windows) not stated in README or getting-started page
- Agor Cloud pricing not published on pages seen; whether the open beta is free not stated
- ssh, sftp, tabs, split_panes, port_forwarding, jump_host, x11, serial, telnet, mosh, cloud_sync, phone_remote, mobile_app: not stated (README mentions SSH only for git remotes)
- team_sharing true rests on README multiplayer and sharing claims; not run
- GitHub Releases are stale (v0.15.0); version history taken from npm and tags