Agent workspace · 777genius
Agent Teams AI
Electron desktop app where teams of coding agents with roles plan work on a kanban board, message each other and review each other's changes; mixes Claude Code, Codex, OpenCode, Cursor, Copilot, Kiro and other providers, with a free built-in model.
Agent Teams AI review
Agent Teams AI is a free desktop app where teams of coding agents plan work on a kanban board, message each other and review each other's changes. We read the vendor's site and GitHub pages in October 2026. We did not run an independent test.
Who it is for
People who want a visual board over several role-based agents on mixed providers, and who accept a free AGPL desktop app.
What stands out
Tasks move across a kanban board and can link to or block each other. Agents send direct messages, create tasks and leave comments, and each task shows its own logs. Changed code opens in a diff view where hunks can be accepted, rejected or commented on.
Team members can use different runtimes or providers. The README lists Claude Code, Codex, OpenCode, Cursor, GitHub Copilot, Kiro, Z.AI, MiniMax and others. Token usage is charted, with monthly budgets and alerts. A built-in terminal and code editor are included, and the repository contains an MCP server.
Worktree isolation can be chosen per teammate when a team launches. The site advertises a free model that needs no sign-in. The README says no Agent Teams backend receives your code.
Desktop builds cover macOS (Apple Silicon and Intel), Windows and Linux. Version 2.18.4 was released on 27 October 2026.
Where it falls short
- Worktrees are optional per teammate. Otherwise agents share the main checkout.
- It is desktop only. The browser dashboard is limited and has no authentication. Phone control appears only as a stated goal, and SSH remote execution is not shipped.
- The licence is AGPL-3.0, and the CLA lets the owner relicense contributions under other terms, such as a commercial licence. The project is run from one maintainer account.
- The README warns that the Windows installer may trigger SmartScreen. Which model the free option uses, and its limits, are not stated on the pages we read.
Price
The homepage says there is no paid tier, and lists Free at $0. Paid usage depends on the provider you connect. Seen 28 October 2026.
Verdict
Choose it if you want to watch role-based agents work on a kanban board with a free desktop app. Look elsewhere if you need remote or mobile control, or worktrees by default.
Facts: platforms, price and licence
- platforms
- macOSWindowsLinuxREADME downloads: macOS Apple Silicon and Intel (.dmg), Windows .exe (README warns it may trigger SmartScreen; release assets include an arm64 installer), Linux AppImage/.deb/.rpm/.pacman. The homepage lists only macOS Apple Silicon, Windows 64-bit and Linux AppImage. A browser/standalone HTTP dashboard exists but is described as limited, local or trusted-network only, with no built-in authentication.
- price
- FreeHomepage: 'Agent Teams has no paid tier', Free plan $0; paid usage depends on the provider you connect (seen 2026-10-28). A free built-in model with no sign-in is advertised.
- source
- Open sourceLicence: AGPL-3.0 (LICENSE file read: GNU AGPL v3 text with a copyright line for 777genius added; no extra terms found). README adds that PRs accept CLA v2, which lets the owner sublicense contributions under additional terms such as a commercial licence.
- github
- 777genius/agent-teams-ai 2.4k stars, seen 2026-10-28
Agent Teams AI features
- ✓ yes AI agents
- ✓ yes Multi-agent
- ✓ yes Git worktrees
- ✓ yes MCP
- ? not verified Phone control
- ? not verified Mobile app
- ? not verified SSH
- ? not verified SFTP
- ✓ yes Tabs
- ? not verified Split panes
- – no Cloud sync
- ? not verified Team sharing
✓ documented · – absent or not in its feature list · ? not verified
Agent Teams AI strengths
- Kanban board with linked tasks, per-task logs, agent-to-agent messages and an in-app diff review with accept, reject and comment on hunks.
- Mixed teams: different members can use different runtimes or providers; token usage analytics with monthly budgets and alerts.
- Git worktree isolation can be chosen per teammate at launch; a built-in terminal and code editor are included.
- No signup needed for the bundled free model; README says no Agent Teams cloud backend receives your code; bundles an MCP server.
Agent Teams AI weak points
- Worktree isolation is optional per teammate; by default agents use the main checkout.
- Desktop only: the web dashboard is limited and has no authentication; phone control appears only in the README's stated vision, and SSH remote execution is not shipped.
- AGPL-3.0 with a CLA that lets the owner relicense contributions commercially; development is led by one maintainer account.
- Windows installer may trigger SmartScreen per the README; the free built-in model's provider and limits are not stated on the pages read; releases are very frequent (v2.17.10 on 9 Oct to v2.18.4 on 27 Oct).
Who Agent Teams AI is for
- best for
- People who want a visual kanban view of several role-based agents across mixed providers and are fine with a free AGPL desktop app.
- look elsewhere if
- Anyone who needs remote or mobile control, SSH-based remote execution, or guaranteed per-agent worktrees by default.
Lists that include Agent Teams AI
Sources and what we could not verify
Checked 2026-10-28. Prices and features change; the vendor's page is the authority.
- github.com/777genius/agent-teams-ai — README features, install, FAQ, roadmap, sponsors, CLA
- api.github.com/repos/777genius/agent-teams-ai — stars 2358, AGPL-3.0, created 2026-02-21, pushed 2026-10-27
- github.com/777genius/agent-teams-ai/blob/main/LICENSE — licence text (AGPL v3, copyright line added)
- github.com/777genius/agent-teams-ai/releases — v2.18.4 2026-10-27, installers per platform
- agentteams.live — price (no paid tier, Free $0), platforms, no company named
Not verified
- ssh, sftp, port_forwarding, jump_host, x11_forwarding, serial, telnet, mosh, split_panes: not stated in pages read (remote SSH execution appears only in a commented-out ideas list in the README)
- team_sharing, scripting_or_api: not stated (mcp-server folder and a limited standalone HTTP dashboard exist, but no documented public API read)
- phone_remote, mobile_app: README 'Vision' says phone control is a direction, not a shipped feature; no app found; left null
- docs.agentteams.live not read; features come from README and homepage
- which model the 'free model with no auth' uses and its limits are not stated on pages read
- macOS code signing/notarization not stated; OS minimums not listed
- release assets include older 'Claude-Agent-Teams-UI' file names, suggesting an earlier project name (inferred, not confirmed on a page)